

PUBLICATION

Independent Commission on the Constitutional Future of Wales meeting: 7 September 2022

Minutes of the commission's meeting on 7 September 2022.

First published: 12 July 2023

Last updated: 12 July 2023

Contents

Present

Welcome

Welsh Local Government Association

Interim report

AOB

Present

Co-chairs

- Laura McAllister
- Rowan Williams

Commission members

- Anwen Elias
- Miguela Gonzalez
- Lauren McEvatt
- Michael Marmot
- Albert Owen
- · Philip Rycroft
- Shavanah Taj
- · Leanne Wood

Expert Panel

· Gareth Williams

Item 2

- · Cllr Mary-Ann Brocklesby, Monmouthshire County Council, Labour
- · Cllr Lis Burnett, Vale of Glamorgan Council, Labour
- · Cllr Huw David, Bridgend County Borough Council, Labour
- Cllr Bryan Davies, Ceredigion County Council, Plaid Cymru

- Cllr Steve Hunt, Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council, Independent
- Cllr Nia Wyn Jeffreys, Gwynedd Council, Plaid Cymru
- · Cllr Alun Llewelyn, Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council, Plaid Cymru
- Cllr Charlie McCoubrey, Conwy County Borough Council, Independent
- · Cllr Jason McLellan, Denbighshire County Council, Labour
- Cllr Llinos Medi, Isle of Anglesey County Council, Plaid Cymru
- · Cllr Sean Morgan, Caerphilly County Borough Council, Labour
- Cllr Darren Price, Carmarthenshire County Council, Plaid Cymru
- · Cllr Mark Pritchard, Wrexham County Borough Council, Independent
- Cllr Ian Roberts, Flintshire County Council, Labour
- Cllr David Simpson, Pembrokeshire County Council, Independent
- Cllr Geraint Thomas, Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council, independent
- Chris Llewelyn, Chief Executive, Welsh Local Government Association
- Daniel Hurford, Head of Policy, Welsh Local Government Association
- Silvi Spiegel, Welsh Local Government Association
- · Sharon Davies, Head of Education, Welsh Local Government Association

Secretariat

- Gareth Morgan, Deputy Director and Head of Secretariat
- · Carys Evans, Adviser
- Victoria Martin, Policy Lead
- Ruth Leggett, Head of Communications and Engagement
- Tessa Hajilambi, Office Manager

Apologies

- Kirsty Williams
- Cllr Andrew Morgan OBE, Leader, Welsh Local Government Association
- Cllr Rob Stewart, Deputy Leader, Welsh Local Government Association

Item 1: Welcome from the co-chairs

1. The co-chairs welcomed commissioners and discussed the agenda.

Item 2: Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA)

- 2. The co-chairs welcomed the Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) leaders and officers. Strengthening democracy was a key part of the commission's remit and local democracy was crucial to this. They hoped this would be the first part of a continuing conversation. The WLGA representatives welcomed the opportunity to provide evidence, and were proud to support devolution and the principle that the exercise of powers to be as close as possible to communities.
- 3. The wide-ranging discussion covered extending participation, regional working, priorities for more powers, replacement of structural funds and 'Levelling Up', relations with the Welsh Government, electoral reform, and civic education. The co-chairs thanked councillors for a useful and very informative first meeting, and looked forward to further discussion.

Item 3: Interim report

4. The commissioners considered the first draft of the interim report.

Item 4: AOB

5. The co-chairs thanked the members for their contributions during the meeting.

This document may not be fully accessible.

For more information refer to our accessibility statement.