Skip to main content

The Counsel General for Wales and Minister for European Transition, Jeremy Miles MS, has today announced the renewal of the Panel of Counsel appointed to provide specialist legal advocacy and advisory work for the Welsh Government.

First published:
17 February 2021
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

The panel has been appointed following a published recruitment competition, and comprises 36 Counsel in total.

3 panels have been appointed:

  • one consisting of Queen’s Counsel,
  • a second panel consisting of Junior Counsel with more than 10 years’ advocacy experience (Junior Counsel A Panel), and
  • a third panel comprising Junior Counsel with fewer than 10 years’ advocacy experience (Junior Counsel B Panel).

The panels of Junior Counsel are divided into broad subject categories, with the overall size and complexion of each panel being determined by need.

Panel appointments will be for a period of 5 years, with effect from 1 March 2021.

The Counsel General and Minister for European Transition, Jeremy Miles MS said:

“I am very pleased to announce these appointments. The competition attracted interest from more than 100 practitioners. I have been encouraged by the level of interest shown and by the quality of the applications received.

“I know that the very experienced and talented Counsel who have been successful in being appointed to the Panel will give the Welsh Government access to an independent pool of considerable legal expertise across a broad spectrum of government activity.

“Having this proven capability to carry out advocacy and advisory work is important in ensuring that the Welsh Government has the best independent legal advice available to it at all times.”

Welsh Government Panel Counsel Appointments 2021

(Names appear in alphabetical order)

Panel of Queen’s Counsel

  • Tim Buley QC (Landmark Chambers)
  • Timothy Corner QC (Landmark Chambers)
  • Morag Ellis QC (Francis Taylor Building Chambers)
  • Ruth Henke QC (Thirty Park Place Chambers)
  • Gregory Jones QC (Francis Taylor Building Chambers)
  • Andrew Kinnier QC (Henderson Chambers)
  • Jonathan Moffett QC (11 King’s Bench Walk Chambers)
  • George Peretz QC (Monckton Chambers)
  • Ian Rogers QC (Monckton Chambers)
  • John Whitting QC (1 Crown Office Row Chambers)
  • Rhodri Williams QC (Thirty Park Place Chambers)

Junior Counsel A Panel

  • Mona Bayoumi (Civitas Law Chambers)
  • Joanne Clement (11 King’s Bench Walk Chambers)
  • Richard Cole (Civitas Law Chambers)
  • Lucy Crowther (Apex Chambers)
  • David Gareth Evans (9 Park Place Chambers)
  • Rebecca Griffiths (Apex Chambers)
  • Rhys Hadden (Serjeants’ Inn Chambers)
  • Christian Howells (Thirty Park Place Chambers)
  • Emyr Jones (Francis Taylor Building Chambers)
  • Christopher McNall (18 St John Street Chambers)
  • Annabel Graham Paul (Francis Taylor Building Chambers)
  • Matthew Rees (Angel Chambers)
  • Emma Sutton (Serjeants’ Inn Chambers)
  • Anthony Vines (Civitas Law Chambers)
  • Cerys Walters (9 Park Place Chambers)
  • Joanne Williams (Civitas Law Chambers)

Junior Counsel B Panel

  • Rhys Davies (9 Park Place Chambers)
  • Joseph Edwards (9 Park Place Chambers)
  • David Gardner (No.5 Chambers)
  • Robert Goodwin (9 Park Place Chambers)
  • Owain Rhys James (Civitas Law Chambers)
  • Thomas Leary (20 Essex Street Chambers)
  • Abla O’Callaghan (Thirty Park Place Chambers)
  • Heather Sargent (Landmark Chambers)
  • Gethin Thomas (39 Essex Street Chambers)