Skip to main content

Grants of up to £25,000 are available to renovate empty properties to make them safe to live in and improve their energy efficiency.

The grant is available in instalments as the work is undertaken. A minimum 15% contribution is required from the applicant.

Local authorities, Registered Social Landlords and Community Housing Groups are also able to apply for funding.


Any one can apply for a grant (as long as the associated local authority has opted to participate in the scheme) however, in order to qualify:

  • the property must have been registered with the local authority as empty for a minimum of 12 months;
  • the property must be owned, or in the process of being purchased, by the applicant at the time of application; and
  • if successful, the applicant must live in the property for a minimum of 5 years post completion of the works as their main and only residence.
  • Some local authorities may have additional eligibility criteria. More information on these can be found on the application page.

Find out if the grant is available in your local authority area.

If you cannot find your local authority on the list, it may be that the authority has opted not to participate in the scheme. In this circumstance, you are encouraged to contact your local authority directly to discuss what options are available to you in your area.

How to apply

Apply for an empty homes grant.

Or contact Rhondda Cynon Taff County Borough Council who are delivering the scheme on behalf on Welsh Government.

Rhondda Cynon Taff County Borough Council

Telephone: 01443 494712

Rydym yn croesawu galwadau a gohebiaeth yn Gymraeg / We welcome calls and correspondence in Welsh.

Participating Local Authorities

Empty homes grant scheme: participating Local Authorities
Confirmed participation: taking applications Confirmed participation: awaiting approval In principle agreement: participation under consideration 
Rhonnda Cynon Taf Vale of Glamorgan Conwy
Monmouthshire   Denbighshire
Gwynedd*   Wrexham 
Isle of Anglesey*    
Blaenau Gwent    
Neath Port Talbot    
Merthyr Tydfil    

*Additional eligibility criteria applies. See application form for further information