Skip to main content

A decision has been made by the Minster for Health and Social Services to appoint a Vice Chair and independent member (Third sector) to Aneurin Bevan University Health Board, both for a period of 3 years.

First published:
10 July 2023
Last updated:

The new Vice Chair is Pippa Britton and the chosen independent member (Third sector) is Martin Blakebrough. 

Pippa Brittons Vice Chair appointment runs from  1st June 2023 to 5th November 2025. Martin Blakebrough Independent Member (Third Sector) appointment runs from the 3rd May 2023 until 2nd May 2026.

Aneurin Bevan University Health Board was established in October 2009 and achieved ‘University’ status in December 2013. The Health Board’s principal role is to ensure the effective planning and delivery of our local NHS system, within a robust governance framework, to achieve the highest standards of patient safety and public service delivery, improve health and reduce inequalities and achieve the best possible outcomes for our citizens, and in a manner that promotes human rights.

This appointment was made in accordance with the Governance code on public appointments.

Political activity

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. 

Pippa Britton:

Board Member Charity Commission
Vice Chair Sport Wales
Chair St David Awards panel

Martin Blakebrough:

CEO of Kaleidoscope, which is a drug and alcohol service.