Skip to main content


  • Rt. Hon. Mark Drakeford MS
  • Rebecca Evans MS
  • Vaughan Gething MS
  • Lesley Griffiths MS
  • Jane Hutt MS
  • Julie James MS
  • Jeremy Miles MS
  • Eluned Morgan MS
  • Mick Antoniw MS
  • Hannah Blythyn MS
  • Dawn Bowden MS
  • Lynne Neagle MS
  • Julie Morgan MS
  • Lee Waters MS


  • Andrew Goodall, Permanent Secretary
  • Des Clifford, Director Office of the First Minister
  • Will Whiteley, Head of Cabinet Division
  • Toby Mason, Head of Strategic Communications
  • Jane Runeckles, Special Adviser
  • Madeleine Brindley, Special Adviser
  • Alex Bevan, Special Adviser
  • Daniel Butler, Special Adviser
  • Ian Butler, Special Adviser
  • David Davies, Special Adviser
  • Kate Edmunds, Special Adviser
  • Sara Faye, Special Adviser
  • Sam Hadley, Special Adviser
  • Clare Jenkins, Special Adviser
  • Owen John, Special Adviser
  • Phillipa Marsden, Special Adviser
  • Mitch Theaker, Special Adviser
  • Tom Woodward, Special Adviser
  • Christopher W Morgan, Head of Cabinet Secretariat (minutes)
  • Damian Roche, Cabinet Secretariat
  • Catrin Sully, Cabinet Office
  • Tracey Burke, Director General Climate Change & Rural Affairs
  • Jo-Anne Daniels, Director General Education, Social Justice and Welsh Language
  • Reg Kilpatrick, Director General, COVID-19 recovery and Local Government
  • Tim Moss, Chief Operating Officer
  • Judith Paget, Director General Health and Social Services
  • Andrew Slade, Director General, Economy, Treasury and Constitution
  • Andrew Jeffreys, Director Welsh Treasury (item 4)
  • Emma Watkins, Deputy Director Budget and Government Business (item 4)
  • Matt Wellington, Budget and Government Business (item 4)

Item 1: Minutes of the previous meetings

1.1 Cymeradwyodd y Cabinet gofnodion 28 Tachwedd / Cabinet approved the minutes of 28 November.

Item 2: First Minister’s items

Constitutional reports

2.1 The First Minister advised Cabinet that the report of the Commission on the UK’s Future, ‘A New Britain: Renewing our Democracy and Rebuilding our Economy’, had been published early that day and the interim report from the Independent Commission on the Constitutional Future of Wales would be published later that week.

Item 3: Senedd Business

3.1 Cabinet considered the Plenary Grid and noted that regular voting time was scheduled for 4:20pm on Tuesday, with Stage 3 of the Environmental Protection (Single-use Plastics Products) (Wales) Bill commencing around 4:35pm. Voting time would be around 6:10pm on Wednesday.

Item 4: Draft Budget Package

4.1 The Minister for Finance and Local Government introduced the paper, which asked Cabinet to agree the MEG level allocations for the 2023-24 Draft Budget, ahead of publication on 13th December.

4.2 Ministers were aware of the challenges posed by the budget and the implications of the financial restrictions.

4.3 Despite this, it had been possible to deliver a budget that seeks to balance short and long-term outcomes alongside prioritising support for those in need despite the economic situation.

4.4 The paper provided details of changes and reflected the work to finalise the revenue allocations for 2023-24 and indicative spending plans for 2024-25.

4.5 Cabinet approved the paper.

Cabinet Secretariat
December 2022