Skip to main content

29 education professionals from Wales have been announced as finalists for the national awards.

First published:
8 April 2019
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Today (8th April), 29 education professionals from across Wales have been revealed as finalists of the third Professional Teaching Awards Cymru.

The awards were created to celebrate the commitment, dedication and hard work of teachers across Wales. Over a hundred nominations came in from pupils, colleagues and parents and now the best of the best has been shortlisted for an award.

The winners from each of the ten categories including Outstanding New Teacher and Headteacher of the year will be announced at a special ceremony at Soughton Hall in May.

The Outstanding New Teacher award will recognise a teacher who demonstrates enthusiasm and excellence within the classroom, whilst showing early leadership qualities and continued professional development. The Headteacher of the Year award will go to an individual who is exceptional at their job, whilst demonstrating an ability to engage the school in the wider community and make a real difference for every pupil.

Education Minister Kirsty Williams said:

“As ever, the calibre of nominations is astounding, and it is truly humbling to see yet another group of inspiring finalists. 

“Part of our national mission is to raise standards of education and make everyone proud to study in Wales. At the heart of the system are the teaching professionals.

 “Every day teachers, support and business staff are all making a real difference to the lives of our young people and it’s vital that we recognise them for their contributions.

“The finalists are a credit to the profession. They should all be exceptionally proud of themselves and I am very much looking forward to meeting them all in May to celebrate their hard work.”

To be the first to find out the winner on Sunday 19 May watch on Facebook ‘Live’ and visit and keep an eye on the Education Wales social channels @WG_Education

Join the conversation with #TeachingAwardsCymru  

The Professional Teaching Awards Cymru 2019 finalists

Supporting Teachers and Learners

Jack Branford, St. Helen’s Primary, Swansea

Emma Gray, Bassaleg School, Newport

Shaun Pearson, Ysgol John Bright, Llandudno

Best Use of Digital Learning

Matt James, Lewis Girls Schools, Caerphilly

Phil Meredith, Caerleon Comprehensive School, Caerleon

Inspirational Use of the Welsh Language

Nia Williams, Alun School, Flintshire

Catrin Phillips – Pembrokeshire County Council, Haverfordwest

Mark Morgan, Pen Y Dre High School, Merthyr Tydfil  

Promoting Collaboration to Improve Learning Opportunities

Richard Watkins, GwE, Conwy

Leanne Pownall, Llantwit Major Comprehensive School, Llantwit Major

Gemma Carr Evans, Bridgend College, Bridgend

Promoting Wellbeing, Inclusion and Relations with the Community

Fiona Thomas, Dwr y Felin Comprehensive School, Neath

Pembroke Dock Community School, Pembroke

Cadoxton Primary School, Barry

Headteacher of the Year

Tracy Jones, Ysgol Merllyn, Flintshire

Rhian Morgan Ellis, Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhondda, Porth

Ceri Parry, Ysgol Gymraeg Casnewydd, Newport

Outstanding New Teacher

Lucio Nocivelli, Eveswell Primary School, Newport

Hannah Cogbill, Cadoxton Primary School, Barry

Gruff Arfon, Ysgol Tryfan, Bangor

School Business Manager/Bursar

Gillian Stevenson, Elfed High School, Flintshire  

Anna Hughes, Rhayader Church in Wales Primary, Rhayader

Gwyn Jones, Ysgol Eirias, Conwy

Teacher of the Year

Robert Aldridge, Mary Immaculate High School, Cardiff

Allison Pope, Cwm Primary School, Ebbw Vale

Cheryl Roberts, Ysgol Tryfan, Bangor

Youth Work in Schools

David Charles, Caldicot School, Monmouthshire

Amy Bolderson, Pontypridd High School, Pontypridd

Blaenau Gwent Youth Service Youth Workers, Ebbw Vale