Skip to main content

The First Minister of Wales, Mark Drakeford, has today announced his new look cabinet to lead Wales.

First published:
13 December 2018
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

The First Minister said:

“It is an enormous privilege for me to be appointed First Minister of Wales. Every leader needs a strong team around them, and I am delighted to introduce my new cabinet which is a strong mix of experience, talent and passion.

“Brexit is our greatest challenge.  In the extraordinary and regrettable circumstances created by the UK Government, it is vital that we prepare for all outcomes. I have retained Ministers in posts where their experience of Brexit preparation is key, while creating a new post to reflect the priority I attach to international relationships and trade.

“As a government we will continue to speak up for Wales, to fight our country’s corner and make sure the government in London is never in any doubt at all of what matters to the people of Wales.”

Cabinet and ministers:

Vaughan Gething
Minister for Health and Social Services

Julie Morgan
Deputy Minister for Health and Social Services

Eluned Morgan
Minister for International Relations and the Welsh Language

Dafydd Elis-Thomas
Deputy Minister for Culture, Sport and Tourism

Ken Skates
Minister for Economy and Transport

Lee Waters
Deputy Minister for Economy and Transport

Julie James
Minister for Housing and Local Government

Hannah Blythyn
Deputy Minister for Housing and Local Government

Rebecca Evans
Minister for Finance and Trefnydd

Kirsty Williams
Minister for Education

Lesley Griffiths
Minister for Environment, Energy and Rural Affairs

Jeremy Miles
Counsel General Designate and Brexit Minister

Jane Hutt
Deputy Minister and Chief Whip