Skip to main content

2 new categories will be introduced for the 2020 St David Awards, First Minister Mark Drakeford today announced.

First published:
19 August 2019
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

The St David Awards have been running for 7 years and the event is a firm part of the Welsh calendar. 

The awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding achievements of people from all walks of life in Wales.

There are 9 categories – Bravery, Culture, Enterprise, Innovation and Technology, Sport, Young Person, the First Minister’s Special Award and the 2 new categories – the St David Humanitarian Award and the Community Spirit Award.

The St David Humanitarian Award will recognise an individual or group from Wales which has improved the lives of others, either in Wales or internationally.

The new Community Spirit Award will honour those people who have worked to improve their local community – it is designed to reward unselfish actions, which have served the public or improved the lives of others.

First Minister Mark Drakeford said:

“Nominations for the St David Awards are now open and anyone can put forward someone they think deserves an award, whether they’re a colleague, friend, neighbour or family member. 

“The St David Awards are the national awards of Wales and we want to hear about people’s brave deeds and exceptional achievements. We welcome nominations from people who live in Wales, are from Wales or have a meaningful link to the country. 

“The awards are the chance to recognise and celebrate our everyday heroes, innovators and entrepreneurs, people making a positive difference to our communities. 

“This year we have introduced 2 new categories to give more people the opportunity to have their contribution to Wales recognised.

“The nomination process is very simple, so do your own good deed today and suggest a worthy winner.”

Last year’s winners included Andrew Niinemae, who stopped a car ploughing into a group of people; Bethan Owen a young carer who runs a not-for-profit karate club for other young carers and 2018 Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas.

Nominations close on 17 October 2019 and the finalists will be announced on 13 February 2020. A celebratory dinner will take place on 19 March 2020 at the Senedd, in Cardiff Bay. 

Nominations can be made via the St David’s Awards website.