Skip to main content

With less than two weeks to go until the close of nominations in the St David Awards, First Minister Carwyn Jones has urged people to nominate local heroes.

First published:
11 October 2016
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Now in their fourth year, the St David Awards acknowledge the achievements of people the length and breadth of Wales. They were created to recognise the great deeds and contributions made by people from all walks of life.

The closing date for nominations in this year’s awards is midnight on the 21 October 2016.

The St David Awards categories are Bravery; Culture; Enterprise; Citizenship; Innovation and Technology; International; Sport; Young Person and the First Minister’s Special Award.

Carwyn Jones said: 

“As First Minister, I am privileged to travel the length and breadth of Wales meeting exceptional people who are going the extra mile to make a difference to someone else’s life, overcoming adversity and achieving truly inspirational things.

“They are a credit to our nation. That is why I am calling for people across Wales to nominate an individual or group for a St David Awards.

“It’s the support of people and communities across Wales which has made the St David Awards a resounding success in previous years.  So, with less than a fortnight to go until nominations close, make sure you do not miss this opportunity to celebrate your local champions. Nominating is easy – get online and put someone forward!”

Winners will be presented with their awards by world-renowned rugby referee and St David Award winner Nigel Owens at a glittering ceremony at the Senedd on 23 March 2017.

Nigel Owens said: 

“It’s great that there are nights like this to show appreciation to everybody in all levels of society. I’m looking forward to be a part of the ceremony and to meet all the fantastic people from all backgrounds, who are the life blood of our communities. These are the people who make Wales special.”