Skip to main content



  • Laura McAllister
  • Rowan Williams

Commission members

  • Anwen Elias
  • Miguela Gonzalez
  • Lauren McEvatt
  • Michael Marmot
  • Albert Owen
  • Kirsty Williams
  • Leanne Wood

Expert Panel

  • Gareth Williams

Item 2

  • Rt Hon Mark Drakeford MS, First Minister of Wales

Item 3

  • Jane Hutt MS, Minister for Social Justice, and Chair of Wales Race Forum
  • Kay Denyer, Race Council Cymru
  • Aled Edwards, CYTUN
  • Professor Uzo Iwobi, Race Council Cymru
  • Maria Mesa, Women Connect First
  • Rob Milligan, Tai Pawb
  • Professor Robert Moore, NWREN
  • Andrew Ogun, BLM Gwent
  • Shahien Taj, Women Connect First
  • Patrick Daly, Welsh Government
  • Riaz Hassan, Welsh Government
  • Bethan Phillips, Welsh Government
  • Paul Webb, Welsh Government


  • Gareth Morgan, Deputy Director and Head of Secretariat
  • Carys Evans, Adviser
  • Heulwen Vaughan, Commission Secretary
  • Ruth Leggett, Head of Communications and Engagement
  • Victoria Martin, Policy Lead
  • Tessa Hajilambi, Office Manager
  • Rod Hough, Office Manager


  • Philip Rycroft
  • Shavanah Taj

Item 1: Welcome from the co-chairs

1. The co-chairs welcomed the commissioners and outlined the agenda. The commissioners briefly discussed the evidence sessions which were to follow.

Item 2: Rt Hon Mark Drakeford MS, First Minister of Wales

2. The First Minister made the case for a reformed Union that works in the common interests of citizens across the UK, and one to which the people of Wales would want to belong.

Item 3: Wales Race Forum

3. The commission then joined a meeting with the Wales Race Forum, chaired by Jane Hutt MS, Minister for Social Justice. A record of this meeting has been published by the Wales Race Forum:

Wales Race Forum: 20 October 2022 on GOV.WALES