Skip to main content



  • Laura McAllister
  • Rowan Williams

Commission members

  • Anwen Elias
  • Miguela Gonzalez
  • Lauren McEvatt
  • Michael Marmot
  • Albert Owen
  • Philip Rycroft
  • Kirsty Williams
  • Leanne Wood

Item 3

  • Gwern Gwynfil, Chief Executive, YesCymru

Item 4

  • Rt Hon Mark Drakeford MS, First Minister of Wales
  • Piers Bisson, Director European Transition, Constitution and Justice, Welsh Government
  • Sophie Brighouse, Deputy Director, Constitution and Justice, Welsh Government
  • David Rich, Head of Constitution, Welsh Government


  • Gareth Morgan, Deputy Director and Head of Secretariat
  • Carys Evans, Adviser
  • Victoria Martin, Policy Lead
  • Heulwen Mai Vaughan, Secretary
  • Ruth Leggett, Head of Communications and Engagement
  • Rhiannon Perkins, Engagement Lead
  • Tessa Hajilambi, Office Manager


  • Shavanah Taj
  • Gareth Williams

Item 1: Welcome from the co-chairs

1. The co-chairs welcomed commissioners to the meeting, and noted apologies from Shavanah Taj and Gareth Williams.

Item 2: Business meeting

2. The commissioners discussed the latest draft of the report and agreed revisions.

Item 3: Evidence meeting - YesCymru

3. The co-chairs welcomed Gwern Gwynfil, Chief Executive of YesCymru, to the meeting. Gwern Gwynfil outlined YesCymru's thinking on independence, including the need to work towards a position where there was widespread support in Wales; the importance of the separation arrangements to be negotiated with the UK government; and the opportunities that independence could offer to Wales.

Item 4: Evidence meeting - First Minister of Wales

4. The co-chairs welcomed Mark Drakeford MS, First Minister of Wales. The First Minister set out his views on the devolution of justice and policing, international relations, and inter-governmental relations.

Item 5: AOB

5. The co-chairs thanked the commissioners for their contributions.