Skip to main content


The Independent Commission on the Constitutional Future of Wales has been established by the Welsh Government with 2 broad objectives:

  1. To consider and develop options for fundamental reform of the constitutional structures of the United Kingdom, in which Wales remains an integral part.
  2. To consider and develop all progressive principal options to strengthen Welsh democracy and deliver improvements for the people of Wales.

The commission membership comprises:

  • Co-chair: Laura McAllister
  • Co-chair: Rowan Williams
  • Anwen Elias
  • Miguela Gonzalez
  • Michael Marmot
  • Lauren McEvatt
  • Albert Owen
  • Philip Rycroft
  • Shavanah Taj
  • Kirsty Williams
  • Leanne Wood

Since the previous progress report, an Expert Panel has been appointed to provide support to the Commission on a range of specialisms, such as governance, law, constitution, economics, and finance, to help it make informed recommendations. The members of the panel are:

  • Jess Blair - Director of the Electoral Reform Society Cymru
  • Prof Emyr Lewis - Head of Department of Law and Criminology at Aberystwyth University
  • Auriol Miller - Director of the Institute of Welsh Affairs
  • Akash Paun - Head of Institute for Government's devolution programme
  • Dr Hugh Rawlings - former Director of Constitutional affairs at the Welsh Government
  • Prof Mairi Spowage - Professor of Practice and Director of the Fraser of Allander Institute
  • Prof Diana Stirbu - Professor of Policy and Governance at London Met University
  • Gareth Williams (Chair) - former Special Adviser to the Welsh Government on European Transition


The commission has met to hear evidence on 7 occasions.

Since the previous progress report, the commission has heard evidence at its meetings from the following people and organisations:

  • Lord Peter Hain, member of the Constitution Reform Group, and former Secretary of State for Wales
  • Prof Mererid Hopwood, Chair of Welsh and Celtic Studies, Aberystwyth University
  • Dafydd Iwan, Welsh language campaigner, musician, and former President of Plaid Cymru
  • Elin Jones MS, Llywydd, Senedd Cymru
  • Mabli Siriol Jones, Chair, Cymdeithas yr Iaith
  • Sir Paul Silk, member of the Constitution Reform Group, and former Chair of the UK government's Commission on Devolution in Wales
  • Huw Thomas, Leader, Cardiff Council
  • Black Lives Matter Cymru
  • Democracy Box
  • Ethnic Minorities and Youth Support Team Wales
  • Urdd Gobaith Cymru
  • Voices From Care Cymru
  • Wales Young Farmers Club
  • Young Carers Academy

The commission most recent technical workshop has considered Wales's fiscal position.


As of 11 July, the commission had received almost 1,600 completed responses to its call for evidence, which was launched on 31 March: Have your say: the constitutional future of Wales. These contributions will inform the content of the Commission's interim report.

On 11 July, the commission launched a Community Engagement Fund. The fund has been created to ensure the views of the varied communities in Wales are being recognised, so that they can be reflected in the commission's interim report. The commission will provide grants to eligible organisations of up to a maximum of £5,000 per third sector organisation or community group, with activity expected to take place in August - November 2022.


The commission will publish an interim report by the end of 2022, and its full report, including recommendations, by the end of 2023.