Skip to main content


The Independent Commission on the Constitutional Future of Wales has been established by the Welsh Government with 2 broad objectives:

  1. To consider and develop options for fundamental reform of the constitutional structures of the United Kingdom, in which Wales remains an integral part.
  2. To consider and develop all progressive principal options to strengthen Welsh democracy and deliver improvements for the people of Wales.

The commission membership comprises:

  • Co-chair: Laura McAllister
  • Co-chair: Rowan Williams
  • Anwen Elias
  • Miguela Gonzalez
  • Michael Marmot
  • Lauren McEvatt
  • Albert Owen
  • Philip Rycroft
  • Shavanah Taj
  • Kirsty Williams
  • Leanne Wood

The commission is supported by an Expert Panel, which provides advice on a range of specialisms:

  • Jess Blair - Director of the Electoral Reform Society Cymru
  • Prof Emyr Lewis - Head of Department of Law and Criminology at Aberystwyth University
  • Auriol Miller - Director of the Institute of Welsh Affairs
  • Akash Paun - Head of Institute for Government's devolution programme
  • Dr Hugh Rawlings - former Director of Constitutional affairs at the Welsh Government
  • Prof Mairi Spowage - Professor of Practice and Director of the Fraser of Allander Institute
  • Prof Diana Stirbu - Professor of Policy and Governance at London Met University
  • Gareth Williams (Chair) - former Special Adviser to the Welsh Government on European Transition


Since the previous progress report, the commission has met to hear evidence on 7 occasions, from the following people and bodies:

  • Rt Hon Andy Burnham, Mayor of Greater Manchester Combined Authority
  • Professor John Denham, Chair of the Southern Policy Centre
  • Jane Dodds MS, Leader, Welsh Liberal Democrats
  • Rt Hon Mark Drakeford MS, First Minister of Wales
  • Dr Robert Jones, Wales Governance Centre
  • Rt Hon David Lidington CBE, former Minister for the Cabinet Office and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
  • Jenneth Parker, Wales Green Party's Policy Coordinator
  • Adam Price MS, Leader, Plaid Cymru
  • Gwenith Price, Acting Welsh Language Commissioner
  • Anthony Slaughter, Leader, Wales Green Party
  • Rt Hon Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd
  • Wales Race Forum
  • Welsh Local Government Association, Political Leaders and Officers

The commission's most recent technical workshop was delivered by the Wales Governance Centre, addressing recent polls and research on public attitudes to devolution and fiscal devolution.


As of 21 October, the commission had received over 2,000 completed responses to its call for evidence Have your say: the constitutional future of Wales, which was launched on 31 March. The current deadline for responses is 31 December 2022. The contributions received to date will inform the content of the commission's interim report.

On 22 September, the commission announced the third sector organisations and community groups which would receive funding of up to £5,000 from its Community Engagement Fund. The fund has been created to ensure the views of the varied communities in Wales are recognised and can be reflected in the commission's interim report. Further information is available on the commission's website.

The commission publishes newsworthy and current content on its channels to engage people in Wales in a national conversation. The content is driven by audience insight, to ensure it’s reaching those who might usually feel excluded from the conversation, as well as those who are very engaged with it. Since the launch of the social media accounts in March, the content shared has resulted in 1,400 followers, 1,030,519 impressions, and 23,518 engagements.


The commission will publish an interim report by the end of 2022, and its full report, including recommendations, by the end of 2023.