Skip to main content

International bi-lateral agreements signed by Welsh Government and countries and regions across the world.

First published:
6 March 2023
Last updated:

A bi-lateral agreement records an understanding between 2 or more parties which is not intended to be binding in law. They can be in the form of a single document and can have a variety of names.

Since devolution, Welsh Ministers have signed a number of bi-lateral agreements with other countries and regions in order to build a mutually beneficial relationship and to further cooperation across a number of policy areas.

Given their non-binding nature, some agreements are not renewed while others lapse and become dormant over time. This can be down to a shift in policy focus, a lack of political will, or simply the agreed cooperation has been achieved or has reached a natural conclusion. The following lists our active bi-lateral agreements at country or regional level:

    Quebec: Declaration of Intent

    Signed 2020

    Areas of co-operation:

    • Economy
    • Innovation
    • Culture
    • Language policy
    • Education

    Brittany: Memorandum of Understanding

    Re-signed 2021

    Areas of co-operation:

    • Culture
    • Language policy
    • Tourism
    • Natural and cultural heritage
    • Sustainable development
    • Teaching and research
    • Youth, sport and European citizenship
    • Agriculture, agrifood and rural development
    • Economy and innovation
    • Cyber security
    • Health, social policy and equality

    Basque Country: Memorandum of Understanding

    Re-signed 2021

    Areas of co-operation:

    • Mobility and transport
    • Environment and climate change
    • Technology, innovation and competitiveness
    • Marine energy
    • Agri-food
    • Education and training
    • Fiscal strategy and policy
    • Health and social care
    • Business

    Ireland: Joint Statement

    Signed 2021

    Areas of co-operation:

    • Political and official engagement
    • Climate and sustainability
    • Trade and tourism
    • Education and research
    • Culture, language and heritage
    • Communities, diaspora and sport

    Oita Prefecture: Memorandum of Understanding

    Signed 2022

    Areas of co-operation:

    • Arts and culture
    • Sport
    • Academia
    • Tourism
    • Food and drink

    Flanders: Memorandum of Understanding

    Signed 2023

    Areas of co-operation:

    • Digitisation
    • Education
    • Research
    • Sustainable Futures
    • Language Policy
    • Care
    • Culture