Skip to main content

Kathryn Bishop has been confirmed as the Welsh Revenue Authority’s first chair, Finance Secretary Mark Drakeford said today.

First published:
30 March 2017
Last updated:

In just over a year, Wales will raise taxes for the first time in 800 years when stamp duty land tax and landfill tax are devolved. Land transaction tax and landfill disposals tax will replace these two taxes in Wales from 1 April 2018.

The Tax Collection and Management (Wales) Act, which was passed by the National Assembly in April 2016, established devolved tax arrangements in Wales, including the creation of the Welsh Revenue Authority (WRA) to collect and manage devolved Welsh taxes.   

The WRA is the first non-ministerial department of the Welsh Government and will become operational in April 2018.  Over the next four years, the WRA will collect more than £1bn of tax revenues.

Confirming Ms Bishop’s appointment, Professor Drakeford said: “In just over a year, Wales will be responsible for collecting and managing our own taxes when land transaction tax and landfill disposals tax are introduced.  

“We are making significant progress in our preparations for tax devolution and the WRA will play an integral part in this.

“It will be responsible for collecting and managing more than £1bn of tax revenues over the next four years – revenue which is crucial for our public services.

“I am pleased to be able to confirm Kathryn Bishop’s appointment as the first chair of the WRA. Kathryn brings a wealth of experience to the role and will provide the WRA with the leadership and vision to ensure a smooth transition as Wales takes on tax powers.”

Ms Bishop said:

“I am delighted to be appointed as chair of the WRA – a new public body with an important function in Wales – and I look forward to working with the implementation team and the stakeholders.” 

Ms Bishop’s appointment as chair of the WRA follows a fair and open recruitment exercise regulated by the Commission for Public Appointments. A pre-appointment hearing by the National Assembly’s Finance Committee endorsed her appointment.