Skip to main content

Lesley Griffiths has today announced the 14 members of the Welsh Government’s Flood and Coastal Erosion Committee to work with the chair, Martin Buckle.

First published:
26 March 2019
Last updated:

The committee is made up of a mixture of appointed and nominated candidates and was established under the provision of the Environment (Wales) Act 2016.

The committee will advise Welsh Ministers on all flood and coastal erosion risk management matters in Wales, including raising awareness, preparation and community resilience to flooding.

The 3 appointed members of the committee are David Harris, Anne-Marie Moon and Natalie Haines. The remainder of the Committee is made up of representatives of Natural Resources Wales, local councils, agriculture, the water industry, academia and the professional sector.

The committee will provide high level advice on flood and coastal policy, working closely with local authorities and Natural Resources Wales, as well as experts from the sector and research institutions. The members will establish their own programme of advisory activity reflecting the national priorities set out in the forthcoming National Strategy for flood and coastal risk management. This will also include identifying research needs and highlighting best practice in Wales and elsewhere.

Minister for Environment, Energy and Rural Affairs, Lesley Griffiths said:

“I am pleased to announce the 14 members of the Flood and Coastal Erosion Committee which comprises a wealth of experience and knowledge in the area of flood and coastal defence.

"The committee will play an important role in providing policy, strategy and research advice and ensure we continue to address flood risk and build resilience effectively across Wales.”