Skip to main content

The Cabinet Secretary for Finance, Mark Drakeford has today announced 7 new members of the European Advisory Group.

First published:
12 July 2018
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

The group, which is chaired by Mr Drakeford, provides advice to the Welsh Government on the challenges and opportunities arising from the UK’s withdrawal from the EU. It was established in July 2016, following the EU referendum result in June and the first meeting took place in September 2016.

The European Advisory Group brings together people with experience and a detailed understanding of European issues, including Members of the European Parliament, business leaders and representatives from universities, colleges, trade unions, agriculture, public services and the third sector.

The following new members have been announced:

  • Rebecca Evans AM, Minister for Housing and Regeneration
  • Dr Chris Jones, Chair of the Health Education and Improvement Wales
  • Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd; Former Lord Chief Justice
  • Alison Lea-Wilson co-founder Halen Môn/Anglesey Sea Salt 
  • Alec Don, CEO of Milford Haven Port Authority
  • Dr Jo Hunt, Wales Governance Centre, Cardiff University
  • Baroness Ilora Finlay of Llandaff, House of Lords 

Mark Drakeford said:

“The new members were recruited for their expertise in areas that will inevitably be affected by our withdrawal from the EU. The issues raised by the UK’s departure from the European Union go far beyond the interests of any particular party or Government. No single individual or party has a monopoly on good ideas, and we look forward to further benefitting from this group’s advice."