Skip to main content

There is a simple online process to make a nomination.

First published:
2 December 2016
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

The Welsh Government has set up the first Professional Teaching Awards Cymru to recognise the best in schools across the country and to celebrate the commitment, dedication and inspiration of the teaching profession in Wales.

People will be able to nominate education professionals and schools (external link) for consideration for the awards, with the winners being announced at a special event in Cardiff City Hall on Sunday 7 May 2017.

There is a simple online process to make a nomination. Categories include:

  • Teacher of the year.
  • Headteacher of the year.
  • Award for promoting pupil wellbeing and or inclusion in school
  • Award for supporting teachers and learners.
  • Whole school award for promoting relationships with parents and the community.

Kirsty Williams said:

“Not only is the role of a teacher one of the most challenging professions, but it is also one of the most important.

“These exciting new awards are an opportunity for us to say thank you to our teachers and recognise the best teaching and leadership out there.

“So the hunt is on for nominations. I am calling on and pupils, parents and schools to put forward their favourite teachers so we can celebrate the best in our schools.”

Winners will be presented with a special Griffith Jones Award. Griffith Jones of Llanddowror turned the Welsh into one of the world’s most literate nations during the 1700s.

A Wales-wide panel of judges will be created to examine the nominations.