Skip to main content

25 more schools are to become involved in developing Wales’ new national curriculum, Education Secretary Kirsty Williams announced today (Mon 9th Jan).

First published:
9 January 2017
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

These schools from across the country will join the existing Pioneer Schools who are helping to create and design the new curriculum which will be used to support teaching and learning from September 2021.

The new curriculum has four purposes to ensure that children and young people develop as:

  • Ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives.
  • Enterprising, creative contributors ready to play a full part in life and work.
  • Healthy, confident individuals ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.
  • Ethical, informed citizens ready to be citizens of Wales and the world.

Kirsty Williams said:

“Our education system must be about providing children and young people with the skills and knowledge they need to thrive in the modern world. The new curriculum we are developing reflects this ambition.

“I am pleased to announce 25 more Pioneer Schools from across Wales who will be at the heart of the process of designing the new curriculum. The education workforce is playing a central role in shaping the future of our education system.”

The latest stage in developing the curriculum is looking at the design of the six Areas of Learning and Experience (AoLEs) of the new curriculum; these are expressive arts, health and well-being, humanities, languages, literacy and communication, mathematics and numeracy, science and technology.

This will build on the progress made in developing the Digital Competence Framework, work on the strategic design principles, pedagogy and practice as well as activity shaping the new Professional Teaching Standards.