Skip to main content

1. Overview

Honours recognise and reward people who are:

  • acting as role models
  • leading by example
  • bringing distinction to Wales

Honours are given to people involved in fields including:

  • community and voluntary services
  • arts and media
  • health and social care
  • sport
  • education
  • science and technology
  • business and the economy
  • civil or political service
  • public services

Nominating someone for an honour can be done at any time in their career or when active in a voluntary capacity. Preferably this would be at a time when they have delivered a significant piece of work rather than towards the end of their working life. Honours will only be considered for up to a year following the individual’s retirement from their role (but ideally 12 months prior to retiring).

Who deserves an honour?

Honours recognise and celebrate outstanding achievements. It is not simply a recognition of long service. There are always fewer honours than people who deserve them and because they are rare, they should be reserved for people:

  • who have changed things especially by solid, practical achievement
  • whose work has brought distinction to British life or enhanced the reputation of Wales or the UK in their area or activity