Skip to main content

In this guide

2. Designated areas

Designated areas are:

  • conservation areas
  • national parks
  • areas of outstanding natural beauty
  • world heritage sites.

These are defined within Schedule 1, Part 2, of the Town and Country Planning (General Permitted Development) Order 1995, under Article 1(5) and are sometimes referred to as Article 1(5) land.