Skip to main content

The Professional Teaching Awards Cymru returns with a new and exciting category putting pupils in charge.

First published:
2 October 2019
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Today, Education Minister Kirsty Williams announced the launch of the fourth annual Professional Teaching Awards Cymru, which celebrates the inspirational education professionals across Wales.

The Education Minister met with last year’s Headteacher of the Year winner Rhian Morgan Ellis at her school, Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhondda in Porth, to launch the 2020 awards.

The Professional Teaching Awards Cymru received over 100 nominations across Wales last year, with worthy winners being announced at the ceremony last May.

With nine award categories including Outstanding New Teacher, Youth Work in Schools and Inspirational Use of the Welsh Language, there are many ways to nominate an incredible teaching professional.

The 2020 awards see the introduction of three new award categories, including Pupil/Pupils’ Award for Best Teacher, Teacher of the Year in a Primary school and Teacher of the Year in a Secondary school.

Education Minister, Kirsty Williams, said:

It is a privilege to be announcing the 4th year of Professional Teaching Awards Cymru.

We are incredibly lucky to have such an exceptional education workforce and it is so important that their hard work is recognised and celebrated.

The importance of teachers and teaching staff cannot be underestimated.

They are role models for the next generation, constantly ensuring that our children and young people are reaching their full potential.

That is why I am excited to announce that one of the new categories for this year’s awards is the Pupils’ Award for Best Teacher who has made a huge difference in their lives.

I look forward to another year of celebrating these fantastic individuals and am pleased to announce that nominations are now open.

We hope that people across the country will take a moment to celebrate the education professionals going above and beyond for their profession.

Rhian Morgan Ellis from Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhondda received the coveted Headteacher of the Year award at last year’s ceremony as a result of her transformational leadership in her school and community.

Speaking at the launch, Rhian said:

I was very proud to have won the award because I have always preached to the children at school that they are as good as anyone and that they can achieve anything they want to do.

“When I won this award I felt on behalf of our pupils' self-worth that it proved to them that someone from this school can be as good as anyone, anyone in Wales, Europe or the world.

Born in the Rhondda Fach to a non-Welsh speaking family, and attending a Welsh Medium school in the 60s, it was always Rhian’s vision to provide the same education for all children in the valley.

Nominations are open until 22 November, with the winners being revealed at an exclusive Awards ceremony in May 2020.