Skip to main content

The Professional Teaching Awards Cymru are back for another year to celebrate the very best in Welsh education.

First published:
4 October 2018
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Cabinet Secretary for Education, Kirsty Williams, announced today that the search for Wales’ best Teaching Professionals for the third Professional Teaching Awards Cymru has begun.

The announcement was made as the Education Secretary visited last year’s Teacher of the Year winner, Lorraine Dalton from Ysgol Esgob Morgan.

Pupils, colleagues and parents from across Wales are encouraged to nominate teaching professionals from across the country that they believe have made a real difference to the education of others in Wales.

Last year, the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru saw an increase of 20% in number of nominations, with 9 winners announced out of a total of 24 finalists on the night. Categories for nominations included Headteacher of the Year, Inspiring use of Welsh Language and Promoting Wellbeing and Inclusion and Relationships with the Community, with Youth Work in Schools being added as a category from 2019.

Education Secretary, Kirsty Williams, said:

“I am very happy to announce that the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru will return for the third time. Over the last two years, we’ve celebrated some fantastic education professionals from across Wales, all of which have shown passion and dedication to the education of others.”

“Teachers are at the heart of Wales, setting paving stones for the next generation. We have a duty to raise standards of education in Wales to make sure that young people are reaching their full potential.

“In order to celebrate the achievements of those who go above and beyond for their pupils, we have brought back the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru for another year. Nominations are now open, and we would love everyone to take the time to put forward an outstanding teaching professional to recognise their achievements as one of the best in Wales.”

Lorraine Dalton from Ysgol Esgob Morgan in St. Asaph won the ‘Teacher of the Year award’ in 2018 for her unwavering passion and commitment, and the tremendous impact she has had on her school, where she started her teaching career 20 years ago. She said:

“When I won I was so surprised. I kept saying when I was shortlisted that it is just a job, but thinking about it, it’s more than a job, it’s a way of life. The children are at the heart of what I do.

“When I brought the award back to the school, the kids were over the moon. It was overwhelming to see how happy everyone was and just seeing that makes it all worthwhile. Since winning I’ve done as I always do, teaching and loving every second - just this time with a nice shiny trophy on my desk as well!”

Nominations are open until 30 November, with the winners being revealed at an exclusive Awards ceremony in May 2019.