Skip to main content

Julie James AM, Minister for Housing and Local Government, today announced five reappointments to the Design Commission for Wales. These appointments run from 1 April 2019.

First published:
31 May 2019
Last updated:

The Design Commission for Wales (DCFW) is a national organisation established in 2002 by the Welsh Government to champion better buildings and spaces, now and for future generations. DCFW uses the skills of professional planners, urban designers, architects, transport planners, sustainability specialists and engineers (on a voluntary basis) to deliver a national Design Review service as well as training for local planning authorities and built environment professionals.  

The newly reappointed members are:

  • Gayna Jones, reappointed as Chair for a further 4 years
  • Elinor Gray-Williams reappointed as a Board Member for a further 4 years
  • Fiona Nixon reappointed as a Board Member for a further 4 years
  • Ian Carter reappointed as a Board Member for a further 4 years
  • Trevor Skempton reappointed as a Board Member for a further year

Members of the Design Commission for Wales are not paid, but are reimbursed for reasonable travel and subsistence costs. They have a time commitment of 4 days per year.

Julie James said:

I am pleased that Gayna has agreed to continue her work as Chair of the Design Commission for Wales supported by Elinor, Fiona, Ian, Trevor and the rest of the DCFW Board. DCFW has a key role in helping implement our national planning policies around placemaking, and a well organised and skilled board is crucial in helping the organisation reach its potential.

These appointments are regulated by the Governance Code on Public Appointments.

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for the political activity of appointees (if any declared) to be published.

None of these persons have carried out any political activities in the last 5 years or holds any other ministerial appointment.