Skip to main content

Members of the Regional Investment for Wales Steering Group.


Huw Irranca-Davies AM

South East Wales Partnership

  • Kellie Beirne, Director of the Cardiff Capital Region City Deal

North Wales Partnership

  • Cllr Dyfrig Siencyn, North Wales Economic Ambition Board

Growing Mid Wales Partnership

  • Carwyn Jones Evans, Growth and Major Developments Manager, Ceredigion County Council

South West Wales Partnership

  • Cllr Rob Stewart (SW - Swansea)

Wales Local Government Association

  • Tim Peppin, Lowri Gwilym (Rotating attendance)

Third Sector Partnership Council

  • Matthew Brown, Director of Operations, Wales Council for Voluntary Action

Third Sector (Social Enterprise)

  • Derek Walker, Chief Executive, Wales Co-operative Centre

Higher Education Funding Council for Wales

  • Dr Alyson Thomas, Director of Policy and Funding

Universities Wales (Higher education)

  • Amanda Wilkinson, Director

Colleges Wales (Further education)

  • Lisa Thomas, Head of The College Merthyr Tydfil

Trade Union (x 2 seats)

  • Shavanah Taj, Acting General Secretary, Wales TUC
  • Nisreen Mansour, Policy Officer, Wales TUC

Natural Resources Wales (Environmental)

  • Ceri Davies, Executive Director of Evidence, Policy and Permitting

Confederation of British Industry Wales (Business)

  • Nick Speed, Public Affairs Director, BT

Federation of Self Employed and Small Businesses Wales (Business)

  • Ashley Rogers, Director, Gill and Shaw, Prestatyn

Wales Rural Network (Community-led local development)

  • Eirlys Lloyd, Community Partnerships/Food Centre Wales Manager, Economic and Community Development Services, Ceredigion County Council

Future Generations Commissioner

  • Professor Rachel Ashworth, Dean and Head of Cardiff Business School, Cardiff University

Equality and Human Rights Commission

  • Hannah Wharf, Head of External Affairs

Chambers of Commerce

  • Paul Slevin, President, South and Mid Wales

Expert Members invited 

  • Grahame Guilford (private sector and regional policy experience), Grahame Guilford and Company Ltd
  • Professor Kevin Morgan (academic and regional policy expert), Professor of Governance and Development, School of Geography and Planning, Cardiff University

The Chair may invite other experts or groups to present papers or take part in discussions.

Welsh Government membership

  • Regional Investment Unit representative (regional investment)
  • Economy representative (Economic Action Plan implementation, economic strategy)
  • 3 x Chief Regional Officers (Regional Units)
  • Skills Higher Education and Lifelong Learning representative
  • Housing and regeneration representative
  • Rural development representative