Skip to main content

24 educational professionals from Wales have been announced as finalists for the national awards

First published:
12 April 2018
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Today (12 April 2018), 24 education professionals from across Wales have been revealed as finalists of the second Professional Teaching Awards Cymru.

The awards were created to celebrate the commitment, dedication and hard work of teachers across Wales. Nominations were received from parents, students, colleagues and employers.

The winners from each of the nine categories including Supporting Teachers and Learners and Best use of Digital learning will be announced at a special ceremony at Hensol Castle in May.

Education Secretary Kirsty Williams said:

“Our national mission is to raise standards, reduce the attainment gap and deliver an education system that is a source of national pride and confidence. An integral part of this is about elevating the status of the teaching profession in Wales.

“That’s why it’s so important that we recognise the excellence we see in our schools every day, right across the country.

“The calibre of nominations we had this year for the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru was absolutely phenomenal.

“The finalists are a credit to the profession. They should all be exceptionally proud of themselves and I am very much looking forward to meeting them all in May to celebrate their hard work.”

To be the first to find out the winner on Sunday 13 May watch on Facebook ‘Live’ and visit and keep an eye on the Education Wales social channels @WG_Education

Join the conversation with #TeachingAwardsCymru

The Professional Teaching Awards Cymru 2018 finalists

Supporting Teachers and Learners

Jackie Marshall, Queen Elizabeth High School, Carmarthen

Anne Garner, Ysgol Bryn Elian, Old Colwyn

Adam Griffiths, Penydre High School, Merthyr Tydfil

School Business Manager/Bursar

Brian Crossland, Ysgol Bryn Elian, Old Colwyn

Helen Avery, Cornist Park Primary School, Flint

Jon Caple, Bishop Hedley High School, Merthyr Tydfil

Promoting Collaboration to Improve Learning Opportunities

To Be Announced at the Ceremony

Promoting wellbeing, inclusion and relationships with the community

Louise Morgan, Canolfan y Gors, Carmarthen

Inclusion Department Team, St. Joseph’s Roman Catholic High School, Newport

Monkton Priory Community Primary School, Pembroke

Teacher of the Year

Carol Hesden, Ysgol Gynradd Gymraeg Caerffili, Caerphilly

Hannah Hopkins, Pontarddulais Comprehensive School

Lorraine Dalton, Ysgol Esgob Morgan, St Asaph

Headteacher of the Year

Meryl Echeverry, Monnow Primary School, Newport

Eleanor Jarrold, Maes Y Coed Primary School, Pontypridd

Janet Waldron, Pontarddulais Comprehensive School

Outstanding New Teacher

Hollie Sinclair, Caerleon Comprehensive School, Newport

Helen Jones, Flint High School

Natasha Williams, Ysgol Bryn Elian, Old Colwyn

Best use of Digital learning

Dylan Lewis, Pontarddulais Comprehensive School

Ysgol Bro Lleu, Caernarfon

Ysgol O.M Edwards, Bala

Inspirational use of the Welsh Language

Jordan Tobin, Dwr y Felin Comprehensive School, Neath

Sarah Mansfield, St Francis Catholic Primary School, Milford Haven

Gwenan Ellis Jones, Gwynedd Council Education Department