Skip to main content

Members of the Social Partnership Council (SPC).

The SPC is to consist of the First Minister as Chair of the SPC and:

  • members from the Welsh Government (“Welsh Government members”)
  • 9 representatives of employers in Wales (“employer representatives”)
  • 9 representatives of workers in Wales (“worker representatives”)

There must be an equal number of worker and employer representatives.

Excluding Welsh Government members, the SPC will consist of 18 members.

The appointed members will start their 3 year term on 1 December 2023.

Worker Representatives

  • Ruth Brady, GMB Wales and South West
  • Neil Butler, National Association of Schoolmasters Union of Women Teachers
  • Peter Hughes, Unite the Union in Wales
  • Gareth Lloyd, University and College Union
  • Shavanah Taj, Wales (TUC) Cymru
  • Jess Turner, Unison Cymru Wales
  • Mike Walker, Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers 
  • Helen Whyley, Royal College of Nursing in Wales
  • Darren Williams, Public and Commercial Services Union

Employer Representatives

  • Pippa Britton, Third  Sector
  • Dame Elan Closs-Stephens, Public Leaders Forum
  • Ben Cottam, Federation of Small Businesses
  • Cllr Anthony Hunt, Welsh Local Government Association
  • Professor Wendy Larner, Cardiff University
  • Ian Price, Confederation of British Industry Wales
  • Nicola Prygodzicz, Aneurin Bevan University Health Board
  • Janis Richards, MAKE UK Ltd
  • Kathryn Robson, Adult Learning Wales