Skip to main content

First Minister Mark Drakeford is calling on the people of Wales to help find the country’s most extraordinary people, by nominating them for a St David Awards.

First published:
18 September 2020
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Now in their 8th year, the national St David Awards celebrate Wales’ true heroes. This year, to reflect the work of so many people during the coronavirus pandemic, a new award will recognise critical workers.

The judging panel will also consider the nominations for people who have made an outstanding contribution during the pandemic – whether that’s a kind and selfless acts to support an individual or community or a businesses, which has helped the national effort – in all the categories.

The award categories are:

  • Critical Worker (Key Worker)
  • Bravery
  • Community Spirit
  • Culture and Sport
  • Business
  • Innovation, Science and Technology
  • Humanitarian
  • Young Person
  • First Minister's Special Award

First Minister Mark Drakeford said:

“We could not have responded to the pandemic without the dedication and hard work of our critical workers throughout Wales. To recognise this, I have added a new category to the list of the St David Awards.

“I’m calling on everyone to help find our everyday heroes – whether family member, friend, colleague or neighbour – and make a nomination for an award.

“With your help we can celebrate the pillars of our community who inspire and lead positive change, our sporting mavericks and scientists who push the boundaries of what we think can be achieved, our innovators and culture makers who help us understand our world in new ways, and the super-humans who remind us that heroes don’t need capes.”

Nominations are now open and can be made via the St David Awards website until 15 October 15.