Skip to main content

Nominated for Sport award


Anne Ellis OBEIn July 2016, Anne Ellis stepped down as president of Hockey Wales, after 20 years at the helm. During the past few decades Welsh hockey has seen significant changes and Anne has been involved in it all, always putting hockey (and sport in general) at the heart of everything she does. She served as president of both the Welsh Women’s Hockey Association and Welsh Hockey Union.

Anne is known and respected world-wide in the field of hockey. She led initiatives such as the 1981 Year of Youth for the International Hockey Federation, receiving the prestigious President's Award. In 2012 she was made a Member of Honour by the Federation of International Hockey and given the Medal of Honour by the European Hockey Federation. 

Anne has been capped 138 consecutive times for Wales, 14 times for Great Britain and captained both Wales and Team GB Women’s Hockey team. Anne also went on to coach Wales and Great Britain. 

Honorary Roles held by Anne have included Director of Great Britain Olympic Hockey, Chair of the International Hockey Federation’s Development and Coaching Committee (the 1st Welsh woman to hold such a post), Chef de Mission for the Welsh Team, at the Melbourne Commonwealth Games 2006, and President of Commonwealth Games Wales.

She is currently Chair of the Swansea City ”Spartans Hockey Team”, the only Welsh ladies team playing in the English National League and volunteers in the cafe at the ground most weekends, to raise funds. In 1990 she was named as “Best Female Coach” by the British Institute of Sports Coaches.

Anne received an MBE in 1980 for Services to Welsh and GB Hockey and an OBE in 2005 for services to Sport. She was the 1st female recipient of the Sydney Friskin memorial goblet.