Skip to main content

Nominations for the 2017 St David Awards are open and a stellar team is in place ready to discover the people in Wales who are doing exceptional things.

First published:
24 August 2016
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Now in their fourth year, the St David Awards acknowledge the achievements of people the length and breadth of Wales. They were created to recognise the great deeds and contributions made by people from all walks of life.

The team tasked with the difficult job of drawing up the shortlist for each of the eight categories nominated by the public includes CBI Wales Director, Emma Watkins, and Peter Fuller, who won last year’s bravery award for stopping a horrific machete attack in a supermarket in Mold.

The St David Awards categories are Bravery; Culture; Enterprise; Citizenship; Innovation and Technology; International; Sport; Young Person and the First Minister’s Special Award.

Winners will be presented with their awards hosted by Welsh television presenter, Angharad Mair and world-renowned rugby referee and St David Award winner Nigel Owens at a glittering ceremony at the Senedd on 23 March 2017.

First Minister of Wales Carwyn Jones said:

“Day in, day out, groups of people and individuals are going the extra mile to make a difference to someone else’s life, overcoming adversity and achieving truly inspirational things.


“Wales is full of fantastic people doing exceptional and extraordinary things. Why not give them the recognition they deserve, show them you care and appreciate their tireless work and endeavour. Nominate them for a St David Award.”

Speaking about the awards, referee Nigel Owens said:

“It’s great that there are nights like this to show appreciation to everybody in all levels of society. I’m looking forward to be a part of the ceremony and to meet all the fantastic people from all backgrounds, who are the life blood of our communities. These are the people who make Wales special”.

Uzo Iwobi, Chief Executive of the Race Council Cymru, said:

“I am absolutely delighted to be invited to serve on the St David Awards Committee and looking forward to working with colleagues to select the worthy citizens of Wales.


“These individuals are the very best of the best and will be seen as role models to others in the community. This will be an exciting year, so please nominate people in your communities.”

To nominate someone for a St David Award visit by midnight on the 21 October 2016.

The Advisory Committee members are:

  • Emma Watkins – Director CBI Wales 
  • Chris Davies – Chief Fire Officer Mid & West Wales Fire Service 
  • Uzo Iwobi – CEO Race Council Cymru
  • Dr Paul Thomas – Chair, Sport Wales 
  • Peter Fuller – Bravery Winner 2016 
  • Sioned Hughes – Chief Exec Urdd Gobaith Cymru 
  • Rhian Burke – Citizenship Winner 2015 / Founder, 2WishUpon
  • Catrin Pascoe – Editor, Western Mail
  • Dr Phil George – Chair, Arts Council Wales