Skip to main content

The winners of this year’s St David’s Awards have been revealed during a virtual ceremony.

First published:
24 March 2021
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

The St David’s Awards, in its 8th year is a chance to acknowledge the extraordinary achievements of people in or from Wales and recognise the great deeds and contributions made by people from all walks of life, during an exceptionally difficult year we have faced.

This year’s award categories are Bravery, Business, Community Spirit, Culture and Sport, Humanitarian, Innovation, Science and Technology, Young Person, Critical Worker and the First Minister’s Special Award.

Speaking at the virtual event, the First Minister said:

“This year’s St David Awards finalists are an inspiring group of people that we are lucky to have living and working in Wales.

“The past year has been incredibly challenging time. The coronavirus pandemic has brought much sadness and heartbreak – but it has also brought out the best in many people. The winners tonight are just a small proportion of those who have gone above and beyond the call of duty and are a true inspiration to us all."

The First Minister announced that Professor Keshav Singhal MBE as the recipient of the First Minister’s Special Award.
Professor Singhal is the Chair of the Covid-19 Risk Assessment group, established at the start of the Coronavirus outbreak, which led to the development of the All-Wales Covid-19 Risk Assessment tool.

The list of winners of the St David Awards are:

  • Bravery: John Rees, Lisa Way and Ayette Bounouri
  • Business: Little Inspirations
  • Community Spirit: Denbighshire Dial a Ride
  • Critical Worker: Cartref Gofal Cherry Tree/ Cherry Tree Care Home
  • Culture and Sport: Delwyn Derrick
  • Humanitarian: John Puzey
  • Innovation, Science and Technology: SBRI/ Welsh Ambulance Service Trust
  • Young Person: Molly Fenton – Love Your Period campaign
  • First Minister’s Special Award: Professor Keshav Singhal MBE