Skip to main content

Mark Drakeford MS, First Minister

First published:
10 July 2020
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

The Welsh Government intends to further amend The Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Wales) Regulations 2020 to remove Serbia from the list of countries and territories where travellers from those places are exempt from the requirement to self-isolate for 14 days.  The amended regulation will come into force on 11 July.

Serbia was included in the list of exempt countries and territories included in the Amending Regulations made on 9 July. Arrivals from Serbia are therefore exempt and currently not subject to the requirement to self-isolate.

Following a reassessment of the public health risk undertaken by the Joint Biodiversity Centre and Public Health England, the UK Government has now determined that Serbia should be removed from the list of exemptions in the Travel Regulations and have drafted amendments to the equivalent Regulations for England to come into force on 11 July 2020.

Responsibility for managing UK borders rests with the UK Government.  The Welsh Government has, throughout this process, aimed to be constructive in enabling the UK Government achieve its policy objective.

Below is the amended list of exempt countries and territories in the Regulations;

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Andorra
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bermuda
  • Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • The Channel Islands
  • Croatia
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Gibraltar
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • The Isle of Man
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao (Macau)
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • Montserrat
  • The Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Poland
  • Reunion
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • South Korea
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Spain
  • St Barthélemy
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Vatican City State
  • Vietnam