Skip to main content

Vaughan Gething, Minister for Health and Social Services

First published:
11 May 2021
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Members will be aware that the Welsh Government made provision in the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Wales) Regulations 2020 to ensure that travellers entering Wales from overseas countries and territories must isolate for 10 days and provide passenger information, to prevent the further spread of coronavirus.  These restrictions came into force on 8 June 2020.

The International Travel Regulations are kept under review, and on 18 January the travel corridors were suspended.  The current arrangements for travel within the Common Travel Area (CTA) (UK, Ireland, Isle of Man and the Channel Islands) are unchanged so travel without isolation is still permitted.

The latest JBC risk assessment (6 May) for Maldives, Nepal and Turkey shows that the risks have increased and they should be added to the red list of countries.  This would mean that direct flights would be banned and travellers would not be permitted entry to Wales, but instead would have to enter through a designated port in England or Scotland and remain in managed quarantine there for 10 days before travelling onto Wales.

The regulations come into force from 04:00 hours Wednesday 12 May.