Skip to main content

Julie Morgan, Deputy Minister for Health and Social Services

First published:
7 May 2019
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Part 7 of the Social Services and Well-being (Wales) Act 2014 set out a new legal framework to strengthen safeguarding arrangements so that people at risk can be protected more effectively. It ensures local safeguarding agencies are supported by more robust leadership and a stronger, more effective framework for multi-agency co-operation.

The National Independent Safeguarding Board is an advisory body which works alongside safeguarding adults boards and safeguarding children boards to secure improvements in safeguarding policy and practice throughout Wales.

Following an open public appointments exercise, and in accordance with the Governance Code on Public Appointments,  I am delighted to announce the appointment of the chair and members of the national board. They bring with them a wealth of experience and knowledge from a variety of backgrounds, including previous experience on the national board. Collectively, they demonstrate the ability to be firm advocates of adult and child safeguarding.

These appointments will run from 1 May 2019 to 1 May 2022. The chair will be paid £256 per day based on a minimum time commitment of 24 days a year and members will be paid at £198 per day based on a minimum time commitment of 12 days a year.

I am grateful for the work of previous board members and am sure that the national board will continue to make a real contribution to ensuring we do all we can in Wales to prevent children and adults in Wales from suffering abuse and neglect.


Jane Randall

Jane brings to the National Board a track record as a highly experienced clinical leader in health and multi-disciplinary safeguarding and public protection as former Head of Safeguarding for Cwm Taf University Health Board. A skilled and effective communicator, she is able to provide expert specialist advice and knowledge and make decisions on complex issues.


Dr Jo Aubrey

Jo brings experience as an academic, consultant and senior manager with a track record of leadership, management and training working with children and families at local, national and international levels. This experience has included advising on a range of issues relating to the development of children’s services – including strategies and policies for protection and safeguarding.

Tessa Hodgson

Tessa is a confident communicator with a broad range of skills and a record of constructive challenge and scrutiny. A County Councillor and Cabinet Member for Safeguarding and Social Services, she will have a significant contribution to make to the strategic development of the National Board.

Karen Minton

Karen has played an important role in the Third Sector in Wales within safeguarding. She brings wide experience both as a safeguarding board member and author of a number of reports and reviews reflecting upon safeguarding practice.

Jan Pickles

Jan is an experienced social worker and has worked in the Probation Service, the police, government and third sector. Jan led the development of the multi-agency risk assessment conference (MARAC) reducing the risk for adults and children who experience domestic and sexual violence and abuse. Jan is a member of the Velindre NHS Trust, the Contextual Safeguarding Advisory Board and the Centre for Expertise in Child sexual abuse Advisory Board. Jan has a thriving safeguarding consultancy business working for local authorities, charities and the private sector, most recently working as part of the review teams on historic sexual abuse in football and the Church .

Tony Young

A former Director of Social Services, Tony will supply the Board with comprehensive knowledge and experience of a multi-agency approach to safeguarding issues and significant leadership experience

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for the political activity of appointees (if any declared) to be published.

Jane Randall – No political activity declared; no other public appointments held.

Jo Aubrey – No political activity declared; no other public appointments held.

Tessa Hodgson – Pembrokeshire County Councillor; no other public appointments held.

Karen Minton – No political activity declared; no other public appointments held.

Jan Pickles – Has canvassed on behalf of the Labour party; independent member, Velindre NHS Trust paid at £9,360 pa)

Tony Young – Has held office at local level and canvassed on behalf of the Labour party; no other public appointments held.