Skip to main content

The Rt Hon Carwyn Jones AM, First Minister of Wales

First published:
14 March 2013
Last updated:

This was published under the 2011 to 2016 administration of the Welsh Government

Assembly Members will wish to know that I have today made changes to my Ministerial team. I have realigned some portfolios to underline the Government’s focus on delivery and to respond to shifting priorities such as the growing pressures on family incomes. I expect the detailed list of revised Ministerial responsibilities to be published over the next week or so.


Mark Drakeford will join the Cabinet as Minister for Health with Gwenda Thomas remaining as Deputy Minister for Social Services.  Responsibility for Children and Families moves to a new portfolio under Huw Lewis as Minister for Communities and Tackling Poverty – this will focus on protecting families and communities and encompass the Tackling Poverty Action Plan; Communities First; Equalities; Children; Welfare Reform and the Voluntary Sector as well as an overarching responsibility for Sustainable Development.


Edwina Hart retains her brief but gains transport, in recognition of the importance which transport plays in promoting jobs and growth, as Minister for the Economy, Science and Transport.  Leighton Andrews remains as Minister for Education and Jeff Cuthbert is Deputy Minister for Skills and Technology.   


Alun Davies becomes Minister for Natural Resources and Food combining his previous responsibilities for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food with those of the former Environment portfolio including climate change, flood prevention and the establishment of Natural Resources Wales.  John Griffiths is the new Culture and Sport Minister and will also be responsible for National Parks, Walking and Cycling (including the Active Travel Bill). Planning now forms part of the Housing and Regeneration portfolio under Carl Sargeant.


Lesley Griffiths is the new Minister for Local Government and Government Business. Jane Hutt remains as Minister for Finance and also assumes responsibility for European Programmes (WEFO) and the development of a Welsh Treasury function.