Skip to main content

Rebecca Evans MS, Minister for Finance and Local Government

First published:
15 July 2022
Last updated:

I am using my powers under Article 18 of the National Assembly for Wales (Representation of the People) Order 2007 to designate one of the Returning Officers for constituencies falling within a Senedd electoral region as Regional Returning Officer for that electoral region. This is necessary for four regions due to retirement and local government restructures.

I am pleased to announce the Senedd Regional Returning Officers for any forthcoming Senedd election shall be: 

North Wales – Iwan Davies – Returning Officer, Conwy County Borough Council

South Wales Central – Paul Orders, Returning Officer, City and County of Cardiff

South Wales East – Christina Harrhy, Returning Officer, Caerphilly County Borough Council.

South Wales West – Karen Jones – Returning Officer, Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council

In the Mid and West Wales Electoral Region, Eifion Evans, the current Regional Returning Officer, will continue in the role.

I would like to thank the outgoing officers Colin Everett (North Wales), Debbie Marles (South Wales Central), Michelle Morris (South Wales East) and Phil Roberts (South Wales West) for their service.

The Regional Returning Officers will be responsible for co-ordinating arrangements for the regional poll in their respective Senedd electoral region.