Skip to main content

Kirsty Williams, MS, Minister for Education

First published:
6 January 2021
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

I informed members in August that, as a result of the UK’s exit from the European Union, the Welsh Government would cease providing support to EU nationals and their family members studying in Wales. The other UK nations made similar announcements.

Students who have already started or who start courses before 1 August 2021 will continue to be eligible for support and home fee status for the duration of their course.

I am now pleased to confirm that from 1 August 2021, subject to legislation being made, the Welsh Government will provide support to EU, EEA and Swiss nationals who benefit from citizens’ rights under the various withdrawal agreements, family members of People of Northern Ireland, Children of Swiss nationals, Children of Turkish Workers, UK nationals living in the EEA and Switzerland, UK and EU nationals resident in Gibraltar, and British and Irish citizens under the Common Travel Area arrangement. Some groups will have support limited to courses beginning before 1 January 2028. All groups will benefit from home fee status in Wales. In addition, UK nationals living in the British overseas territories will be eligible for home fee status, as will, until 1 January 2028, UK nationals living in the EU overseas territories. As is usual, residency conditions will apply. The Welsh Government will issue further information shortly.

This statement is being issued during recess in order to keep Members informed. Should Members wish me to make a further statement or to answer questions on this when the Senedd returns, I would be happy to do so.