Skip to main content

Carwyn Jones, First Minister

First published:
28 September 2016
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

During the summer, and again in my oral statement of 13 September, I committed to establishing a European Advisory Group to provide advice to the Welsh Government on the challenges and potential opportunities Wales faces arising from the UK’s withdrawal from the European Union. It will also consider how Wales can best secure a continued positive relationship with Europe.

The Advisory Group, which is chaired by the Cabinet Secretary for Finance and Local Government, met for the first time this morning and brought together a range of individuals with expertise in European issues including Members of the European Parliament, business leaders and representatives from universities, colleges, trade unions, agriculture, public services and the third sector.  Areas covered at the first meeting included developments since the referendum both within Wales and at a UK level, as well as a range of key issues and cross-cutting themes including: the single market; migration; social, environmental and economic protections; legislative, financial and constitutional implications; and Wales’ position in Europe.

The Advisory Group has a wealth of expertise and experience. The issues raised by the UK’s departure from the European Union go far beyond the interests of any particular party or Government. No single individual or party has a monopoly on good ideas, and we look forward to further benefitting from this group’s advice.

Discussions within the European Advisory Group are in confidence but updates on its work will be provided as part of the Welsh Government’s regular reporting to the National Assembly of progress on work related to the UK’s withdrawal from the EU.

European Advisory Group members:

  • Councillor Phil Bale – Leader of City of Cardiff Council
  • Kevin Crofton – President, SPTS Technologies Ltd
  • Professor Richard B. Davies – Vice-Chancellor, Swansea University
  • Jill Evans MEP – Member of the European Parliament
  • Nathan Gill MEP – Member of the European Parliament
  • David Jones OBE – Principal and Chief Executive, Coleg Cambria
  • Sir Emyr Jones Parry – President, Aberystwyth University
  • Dr Hywel Ceri Jones – Former EU Funding Ambassador
  • Tom Jones OBE – European Economic and Social Committee
  • Lord Kinnock – Former Vice-President of the European Commission
  • Martin Mansfield – General Secretary, Wales TUC
  • Ruth Marks MBE – Chief Executive, Wales Council for Voluntary Action
  • Baroness Eluned Morgan AM – Former Member of the European Parliament
  • William Powell – Chair of the Cross Party Group on Europe in the Fourth Assembly
  • Professor Colin Riordan – President and Vice-Chancellor, Cardiff University
  • Kevin Roberts – Chair of the Agriculture Partnership Board
  • Dr Kay Swinburne MEP – Member of the European Parliament
  • Derek Vaughan MEP – Member of the European Parliament
  • Emma Watkins – Director, CBI Wales