Skip to main content

Vaughan Gething Minister for Health and Social Services

First published:
19 November 2020
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Members will be aware that the Welsh Government made provision in the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Wales) Regulations 2020 to ensure that travellers entering Wales from overseas countries and territories must isolate for 14 days and provide passenger information, to prevent the further spread of coronavirus.  These restrictions came into force on 8 June 2020.

On 10 July, the Welsh Government amended these Regulations to introduce exemptions from the isolation requirement for a list of countries and territories, and a limited range of people in specialised sectors or employment who may be exempted from the isolation requirement or excepted from certain provisions of the passenger information requirements.

Since then these Regulations have been kept under review and a number of changes to the list of exempt countries and territories have been made.

Today I reviewed the latest JBC assessments and I have decided that Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba; Israel; the City of Jerusalem; Namibia; the Northern Mariana Islands; Rwanda; Sri Lanka; Uruguay and the US Virgin Islands will be added to the list of exempt countries and territories.  Travellers from these countries and territories will therefore not be required to isolate on arrival in Wales.

Tomorrow I will lay the necessary regulations which will come into force at 04:00 on Saturday 21 November.