Skip to main content

Vaughan Gething Minister for Health and Social Services

First published:
24 September 2020
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Members will be aware that the UK Government made provision to ensure that travellers entering the United Kingdom from overseas must self-isolate for 14 days, to prevent the further spread of coronavirus.  These restrictions came into force on 8 June 2020.

On 10 July, the Welsh Government amended the Regulations to introduce exemptions from the isolation requirement for a list of countries and territories, and a limited range of people in specialised sectors or employment who may be exempted from the isolation requirement or excepted from certain provisions of the passenger information requirements.

Since then these regulations have been kept under review and a number of changes to the list of exempt countries and territories have been made.

Today I reviewed the latest JBC assessments and I have decided that Curacao, Denmark, Iceland and Slovakia will be removed from the list of exempt countries and territories.

The Welsh Government intends to further amend the regulations by adding new sectoral exemptions for elite sports people and support staff including medical teams. Events will added to the list of specified sporting events.

Tomorrow I will lay the necessary regulations which will come into force at 04:00 on Saturday 26 September.