Skip to main content

Vaughan Gething MS, Minister for Health and Social Services

First published:
29 October 2020
Last updated:

This was published under the 2016 to 2021 administration of the Welsh Government

Members will be aware that the Welsh Government made provision in the Health Protection (Coronavirus, International Travel) (Wales) Regulations 2020 to ensure that travellers entering Wales from overseas countries and territories must isolate for 14 days and provide passenger information, to prevent the further spread of coronavirus.  These restrictions came into force on 8 June 2020.

On 10 July, the Welsh Government amended these Regulations to introduce exemptions from the isolation requirement for a list of countries and territories, and a limited range of people in specialised sectors or employment who may be exempted from the isolation requirement or excepted from certain provisions of the passenger information requirements.

Since then these Regulations have been kept under review and a number of changes to the list of exempt countries and territories have been made.

Today I reviewed the latest JBC assessments and I have decided that Lithuania and Cyprus will be removed from the list of exempt countries and territories, so travellers from Lithuania and Cyprus will need to isolate on arrival in Wales.

Further amendments will be made to the sectoral exemptions to permit visiting foreign troops to take part in training exercises in Wales and technical amendments will be made to two categories to clarify the exemption applies only to travel for work purposes. 

Additional events will also be added to the list of sporting events in Schedule 4 for which those involved are excepted from the isolation requirements for limited purposes connected with their participation.

Changes will be made to the passenger information requirements to remove unnecessary data requests and include a new requirement for seat numbers where available.

Tomorrow I will lay the necessary regulations which will come into force at 04:00 on Sunday 1 November.