Skip to main content

Mark Drakeford, Minister for Health and Social Services

First published:
3 November 2014
Last updated:

This was published under the 2011 to 2016 administration of the Welsh Government


The revised Health Standards Framework for NHS Wales is going out for consultation on the 3 November for a period of 12 weeks ending on the 26 January 2015, with the launch of the new Health Standards scheduled for April 2015. This will be accompanied by supporting guidance for each standard and will be available on the NHS Wales Governance e-Manual website. The Health Standards recognise the importance of equal partnership between those who provide a service and those who receive it.

On the 9 July 2013 I gave a commitment in ‘Delivering Safe Care, Compassionate Care’, to review and update the Standards for Health Services in Wales ‘Doing Well, Doing Better’ (2010) and the Fundamentals of Care Standards (2003).

I am pleased that the revised Health Standards Framework being consulted on has been developed following an extensive process involving a review of international and national evidence and engagement with key stakeholders. The process is being overseen by a Project Board, chaired by the Chief Nursing Officer, and supported by a Project Team with membership from organisations across Wales. Stage one of the engagement exercise involved a questionnaire. This was circulated to key stakeholders in Wales between 4 April and 13 May. Respondents were invited to make comment on the current standards and make proposals on what they would like to see in the revised standards.  Stage two involved three  engagement events. A total of 182 delegates attended these events across Wales, representing health care, social care, voluntary sector, inspectorate, regulator, and patient representative bodies.

The revised Health Standards Framework has seven  quality themes. These were originally developed following the Talk Care Events in 2013, which was part of a programme of work speaking to people about what was important to them in their health services. Under these themes there are 24 standards.

Respondents to the consultation will be able to access the consultation documents online and reply either via freepost, or email.