Skip to main content

Mick Antoniw MS, Counsel General and Minister for the Constitution

First published:
13 June 2022
Last updated:

In my previous announcement of the establishment of the Independent Commission on the Constitutional Future of Wales, I indicated the Commission would be able to commission research, analysis and expert opinion through a Panel of Experts established for this purpose and I undertook to inform you when the panel had been appointed.

I am now able to update you on their appointment. The panel will comprise the following members:

Jess Blair - Director of the Electoral Reform Society Cymru

Prof Emyr Lewis - Head of Department of Law and Criminology at Aberystwyth University

Auriol Miller - Director of the Institute of Welsh Affairs

Akash Paun - Head of Institute for Government's devolution programme

Dr Hugh Rawlings – Former Director of Constitutional affairs at the Welsh Government

Prof Mairi Spowage - Professor of Practice and Director of the Fraser of Allander Institute

Prof Diana Stirbu - Professor of Policy and Governance at London Met University

Gareth Williams (Chair) – Former Special Adviser to the Welsh Government on European Transition

The members of the Expert Panel were selected in consultation with the Commission, reflecting their assessment of topics where the Commission would benefit from access to specialist expertise. I would like to place on record my sincere thanks to all those who have agreed to support the Commission in its work through participating in its Expert Panel. I will update Senedd Members on any future appointments to the Expert Panel.