Skip to main content

Eluned Morgan MS, Minister for Health and Social Services

First published:
3 June 2021
Last updated:

Following the three week review of the restrictions on international travel we are following the same traffic-light approach to international travel as the rest of the UK.

Portugal has been moved from green to the amber list to safeguard public health against variants of concern. 

Seven countries – Afghanistan, Sudan, Sri Lanka, Bahrain, Trinidad and Tobago and Costa Rica and Egypt – have also been added to the red list. All changes to the lists will come into effect at 4am on Tuesday 8 June.  

The decision to move Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores) to the amber list follows increased concern in the spread of variants of coronavirus, including a mutation of the Delta variant, and the risk that is posed of bringing these back to the UK if people are not required to quarantine.  

Our message is clear – this is the year to holiday at home. We’re calling on people to only travel overseas for essential reasons. We have all sacrificed so much to control the pandemic in Wales, we do not want to see the virus re-imported – or new variants come into the country - as a result of overseas travel.