Skip to main content

Eluned Morgan MS, Minister for Health and Social Services

First published:
26 November 2021
Last updated:

We are taking immediate action to move six south African countries onto the red list for travel following the identification of a new coronavirus variant, which may be capable of evading the protection provided by vaccines.

The variant, called B.1.1.529, has been linked to Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe. These countries have moved onto the red list from 12pm today.   

This means travellers from these destinations will not be permitted to enter Wales but must enter through a port of entry in England or Scotland and go into a managed quarantine facility for 10 days. They must also take post-arrival PCR tests on day 2 and day 8.

Similar action is being taken across the UK.