Skip to main content

Eluned Morgan MS, Minister for Health and Social Services

First published:
5 August 2021
Last updated:

The UK Government has announced changes to the red, amber and green country lists for international travel in England. Despite our continued efforts to press for UK-wide decision-making in this area, decisions for England have once again been made without engagement with the Welsh Government or the other Devolved Governments.

This is unacceptable – international travel policy affects all parts of the UK and Welsh interests need to be part of the decision-making process.

We are extremely disappointed with the unilateral approach taken and believe there remain clear public health risks posed by re-opening international travel while the virus is circulating globally. For these reasons, we continue to caution against international travel for non-essential reasons this summer.

However, as we share an open border with England, it would not be practical or viable to introduce a separate border health policy.

Therefore, we will replicate the changes being made in England, Scotland and Northern Ireland, to maintain the same traffic-light system as the rest of the UK. 

This means that:

  • Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Slovakia, Latvia, Romania and Norway will move from the amber list to the green list.
  • Georgia, La Reunion, Mayotte and Mexico will move from the amber list to the red list.
  • India, Bahrain, Qatar and the UAE will move from the red list to the amber list.
  • People fully vaccinated in the UK, in Europe or the USA with approved vaccines will no longer be required to self-isolate and take a day-eight PCR test on arrival from France.

These changes will come into effect at 4am on Sunday 8 August.  

This statement is being issued during recess in order to keep members informed. Should members wish me to make a further statement or to answer questions on this when the Senedd returns I would be happy to do so.