Skip to main content

Edwina Hart, Minister for Economy, Science and Transport

First published:
20 May 2015
Last updated:

This was published under the 2011 to 2016 administration of the Welsh Government

In May 2014, I issued statutory guidance to local authorities setting out how they should approach the production of their Local Transport Plans, one of their duties as set out in the Transport Act 2000 (as amended).

Subsequently, in January 2015, and in accordance with the Regional Transport Planning (Wales) Order 2014, nine Local Transport Plans were submitted to me for approval. These were as follows:

  1. Bridgend
  2. Cardiff
  3. Mid Wales (Ceredigion, Gwynedd (Meirionnydd), Powys)
  4. Monmouthshire
  5. Newport
  6. North Wales (Anglesey, Conwy, Denbighshire, Gwynedd (Arfon and Dwyfor), Flintshire, Wrexham)
  7. South East Wales Valleys (Blaenau Gwent, Caerphilly, Merthyr Tydfil, Rhondda Cynon Taf, Torfaen)
  8. South West Wales (Carmarthenshire, Neath Port Talbot, Pembrokeshire, Swansea)
  9. Vale of Glamorgan

In accordance with the legislative requirements set out in the Transport Act (2000) as amended, I am satisfied that the plans contain policies for the promotion and encouragement of safe and efficient transport. I am also satisfied that the plans contain policies for the implementation of the Wales Transport Strategy, and have taken regard of the statutory guidance.

For this reason I am able to approve the plans as submitted to me. It should be noted that my approval of the plans does not imply approval of the process the local authorities have followed, including compliance with statutory duties placed upon them.