Skip to main content

Carl Sargeant, Minister for Local Government and Communities

First published:
27 March 2012
Last updated:

This was published under the 2011 to 2016 administration of the Welsh Government

There is the potential for elections to three different administrations, with three different voting systems to take place in May 2016 – the elections to the National Assembly for Wales, election of county and community councillors and the election of Police and Crime Commissioners.  

I recently consulted with a wide range of stakeholders on the proposal to change the ordinary year of local government election of councillors in Wales from May 2016 to May 2017. The proposal received overwhelming support.  

I therefore intend to exercise my powers under section 87 of the Local Government Act 2000 to change the year in which the ordinary election of county and community council in Wales will take place from May 2016 to May 2017.

I am announcing my decision now so that those considering standing for election this May will know that their term of office will be extended to five years.

I recently made and laid before the National Assembly an Order which changes the year of ordinary election of councillors in the County of the Isle of Anglesey from May 2012 to May 2013. This means that elections on the Isle of Anglesey are out of synchronisation with the election of councillors across the rest of Wales.

My decision to change the ordinary year of election of councillors will mean that the election of councillors in all local authorities in  Wales will be held at the same time from May 2017.

An Order will be prepared to give effect to my decision in due course.