Skip to main content

Ieuan Wyn Jones, Deputy First Minister and Minister for the Economy and Transport

First published:
15 February 2011
Last updated:

This was published under the 2007 to 2011 administration of the Welsh Government

The Statement advises Members of the new Sector Panels that will advise the Welsh Assembly Government on the economic development of Wales.

The sector panels are made up of business people from outside government who have an established record in their field. Each will advise on opportunities within the 6 key sectors identified by Ministers as having the greatest potential to grow the Welsh economy. The sectoral approach has been adopted following the announcement of ‘Economic Renewal: a new direction’, which sets out the role devolved government will play to support the private sector and the economy of Wales.

It focuses on 6 key sectors where Wales has clear advantages for growth. They include:

  • Creative industries
  • ICT
  • Energy and Environment
  • Advanced material and manufacturing
  • Life Sciences
  • Financial and Professional services

Each of these sectors will have their own panel, made up of five private sector business people, including the chair. It will be their job to provide advice to Ministers on the opportunities and needs of the different sectors. Initially their priority will be to map out the shape of the sectors and work with businesses of all sizes in order to identify opportunities.

These new sector panels have one, clear role – to use their private sector success and experience to help us identify the best opportunities out there for business growth. Our ultimate aim is to see Welsh businesses, large and small, in these key sectors grow and create the jobs we need for the future development of our economy.

The new sector chairs are:

  • Advanced Materials and Manufacturing - Gareth Jenkins.
  • Energy and Environment - Kevin McCullough.
  • Financial and professional Services - Chris Nott.
  • ICT - Thomas Kelly.
  • Life Science – Sir Christopher Evans.

In October last year we announced that Ron Jones will chair the creative sectors panel.

As well as the chairs, the 6 panels will include the following members: 

Advanced Materials and Manufacturing

  • Mr Keith Baker
  • Dr Frank O’Connor
  • Dr Phillip Clements
  • Deep Sagar

Energy and Environment

  • Mr David Williams
  • Mr Alan Proctor
  • Mr Gerry Jewson
  • Mr John Jones

Financial and professional Services

  • Mr Seth Thomas- accepted subject to board approval
  • Mr Allan Griffiths
  • Mrs Vivienne Hole
  • Mr David Hawkins


  • Mr Andrew Carr
  • Mr David Jones
  • Mr Steve Dalton
  • Dr Mark Bentall

Life Science

  • Prof Gareth Morgan (Vice Chair)
  • Dr Grahame Guilford
  • Dr Penelope Owen
  • Mr Gwyn John Tudor

Creative Industries (this panel was announced on 12th Oct 2010)

  • Jaynie Bye
  • Gwyn Roberts
  • Dai Davies
  • Fiona Stewart

I would also like to confirm that I am in advanced discussions on the formation of an advisory group on SMEs for the 6 key sectors. This group would allow the Sector Panels to engage more effectively with SMEs in their sector. It would also support the Sector Panels and sector teams in planning and delivering targeted business support, in a way that supports SMEs within their sector.