Skip to main content

Vaughan Gething MS, Minister for Economy

First published:
14 March 2023
Last updated:

I wanted to provide Members with an update on the Enterprise Zone programme in Wales and specifically on the Advisory Boards for Anglesey, Haven, and Port Talbot Enterprise Zones (EZs).

In my statement on 2 March 2022, as we emerged from the COVID-19 pandemic in a post-Brexit landscape, I outlined my plan to extend appointments to these Boards for a period of up to 12 months and to undergo a process to refresh membership after that.   

Since then, further, and severe economic and social challenges have arisen, such as the war in Ukraine and the cost-of-living crisis. Given this and the important policy developments on the horizon as we consider the potential advent of Freeports (being jointly developed by Welsh and UK Governments), further engagement from the UK Government on Investment Zones and the establishment of Corporate Joint Committees, there are   potential implications for our regional governance structures moving forward. 

I am therefore inviting the current Boards of Anglesey, Haven, and Port Talbot to continue in their roles for a further period of up to 12 months which will further support the place-based approach to economic policy development during this period. It will allow for greater certainty on the emerging footprint moving forward, the future advisory architecture that might evolve, and how this will ultimately best support our delivery on the Programme for Government.

I wish to put on record my appreciation to the Chairs - Mr Neil Rowlands, Mr Roger Maggs MBE and Mr Stan McIlvenny OBE - all of their fellow board members and local authorities for agreeing to lend their continued support and engagement to the Enterprise Zone programme. I would also like to thank the local authorities and other partners across all the other Enterprise Zone areas who continue to play a significant role in driving forward our common agenda.

I will provide a further update to Members at the end of this calendar year.